Tuesday, May 27, 2008

61st Cannes Film Festival triumph or fiasco?

- Winners 61st Cannes Film Festival-
Awards given Sunday at the 61st Cannes Film Festival, selected by a nine-member jury headed by actor-director Sean Penn: Palme d'Or (Golden Palm): "The Class" Laurent Cantet (France) Grand Prize: "Gomorrah" Matteo Garrone (Italy.) Jury Prize: "Il Divo" Paolo Sorrentino (Italy.) Special 61st Anniversary Prizes: Catherine Deneuve (France) and Clint Eastwood (United States). Best Director: "Three Monkeys" Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkey) Best Actor: Benicio Del Toro "Che" (United States). Best Actress: Sandra Corveloni, " Linha de Passe " (Brazil.) Best Screenplay: " Lorna's Silence " Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne (Belgium) Golden Camera (first-time director): "Hunger" Steve McQueen (Britain) Best short film: "Megatron" Marian Crisan (Romania). For many judges of the present of cinema 61st Cannes Film Festival became triumph. But despite of everything Cannes were fair and magnanimous in a choice of winner Golden Palm - "The Class" Laurent Cantet (France).

No comments: